Community Awards and Celebrations

The Celebrate Burlington Awards are community development awards which celebrate upstanding citizens in our community. 


For many years, the City has recognized and celebrated community members whose leadership and work has advanced social equity, environmental stewardship and civic engagement efforts. This is a reminder to take a moment and think of someone you know who is always volunteering and vocal about helping the greater good. If you know someone whose efforts and passion brings positive differences in people's lives or has improved our community's vitality, you can thank them by nominating them for the Peter Clavelle Award or the Herb Bloomenthal Award. Nominations are due April 10th, 2019. The nomination process is easy, rewarding and quick. Recipients will be recognized during a formal presentation on April 30th (Food & Networking will begin at 4:30, Official Awards Ceremony will begin at 5:30) in Burlington City Hall's Contois Auditorium with refreshments, entertainment and an award ceremony. This is a great time to honor and celebrate the exceptional professionals and volunteers who make our community a great place to work, live, and play. 


Featured Awards include:



Honors a professional whose leadership has advanced social equity, environmental stewardship, quality education, economic growth and vitality in Burlington. Peter Clavelle was the mayor of Burlington for 15 years, the longest tenure of any mayor in the city's history (1995 - 2006). If you would like to nominate a person for the annual Peter Clavelle Award, which recognizes an individual whose efforts have helped make Burlington a better place to live, work and play, please click HERE. If you have any further questions, please contact Gillian Nanton at gnanton@burlingtonvt.gov. 


Previous Award winners are:

  • 2005, Peter Clavelle
  • 2006, Jane Knodell
  • 2007, Chapin Spencer
  • 2008, Hal Colston
  • 2009, Jim Flint
  • 2010, Jeanne Collins
  • 2011, Jacob Bogre
  • 2012, Caryl Stewart
  • 2013, Annie Bourdon, Founder and Executive Director of CarShare Vermont
  • 2014, Andy Jones, Manager of the Intervale Community Farm
  • 2015, Don Wright, Very Merry Theatre
  • 2016, Gail Shampnois, Director of UVM's Office of Student and Community Relations 
  • 2017, Karen Freudenberger, Founder of Pine Island Farm and an instrumental member of the electric bike rebate program



This award honors volunteers whose leadership, tenacity and dedication have somehow improved Burlington's neighborhoods.

Herb Bloomenthal was a very active Ward 1 resident who is credited with advancing efforts like Green Up Day and the expansion of the Bike Path. He passed away in 2000 but is remembered for his character, level of determination and commitment, compassion for his neighbors, and dedication to the truth. Click HERE to nominate a dedicated member of your community for the Herb Bloomenthal Award. If you have any further questions, please contact Phet Keomanyvanh at pkeomanyvanh@burlingtonvt.gov.


Previous Award winners are:

  • 2001, Carolyn Bates, Director of Carolyn Bates Photography
  • 2002, Gus Buchanan, Rock Point School History Teacher, Outdoor Educator, Apiarist
  • 2003, Donna Bister
  • 2004, Charlie Krumholz
  • 2005, Bonnie Acker
  • 2006, Wayne Senville
  • 2007, Richard Kemp
  • 2008, Helaine (Lainey) D. Rappaport
  • 2009, Megnath & Madhu Neupane
  • 2010, Sara Martinez de Osaba
  • 2011, John Griesser
  • 2012, Jeetan Khadka, Community Activist & Young Adult Navigator at Spectrum Youth & Family Services
  • 2013, Lea Terhune, Neighborhood Planning Assembly (NPA) Steering Committee member from Wards 4/7
  • 2014, James Holway, Neighborhood Activist in the New North End
  • 2015, Sandra L. Baird, Burlington Attorney, Burlington College Faculty, Burlington Telecom Advisory Board Member, Former State Representative
  • 2016, Peggy O'Neil, Bike/walk and Parent Activist
  • 2017, Rivan Calderin, member of Social Justice Union at BHS, 



Created in 2013 to honor those who have demonstrated an exemplary commitment to restorative justice, community-based responses to crime and conflict, and helping people stay out of (or preventing their return to) the criminal justice system. Ken Schatz was a founder of the Community Justice Center (CJC) and Chair of the CJC Citizens' Advisory Committee, and currently is the Commissioner for the Department of Children and Families. For more information about the Ken Schatz award, or to nominate someone you know, please contact Rachel Jolly at rjolly@burlingtonvt.gov


Previous Award winners are:

  • 2013: Ken Schatz, Founder of the Community Justice Center
  • 2014, Sally Fox, Vermont State Senator
  • 2015, Richard Kemp, Community Justice Center Founder, Citizen Advisory Committee  Chair
  • 2016, Marija Valencak, CJC Citizens' Advisory Committee Member 
  • 2017, Christine Longmore, Community Organizer for Parents and Youth for Change